Whenever you accept a position at a new company or in a new department, you should read their employee handbook from cover to cover. This will ensure you have a thorough understanding of your employer’s policies and procedures regarding everything from holidays to sick leave.
Is your overtime not being paid in Houston despite working double or even triple shifts? It could be because you did not actually work any more than 40 hours in a single week. In the state of Texas, employers only owe overtime when their employees exceed 40 hours in a single, seven-day workweek.
All business entities in the state of Texas must abide by the Texas Payday Law, regardless of their size. Pursuant to this law, all individuals who perform a service in exchange for compensation are considered employees, unless they are independent contractors or close relatives.
If you put in the hours at work, you deserve to get paid for them. Unfortunately, an alarming number of employees are underpaid, especially those who work overtime.
All employees deserve to be paid for the work they do, especially if they go above and beyond by putting in more than 40 hours in a single week. Unfortunately, there are dozens of possible reasons why an employer might fail to compensate his or her employees fairly.